Caribbean Rice Pudding

Ingredients:

2 cups of Water

1 pinch of Salt

1/2 Brown Rice (not instant)

1/2 cup of Coconut Milk

1/4 cup of Raisins

1/4 cup of Honey

1/4 cup of Shredded Coconut

1/2 teaspoon of Ground Cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon of Ground Nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon of Vanilla

Directions:

Bring water to a boil and then add the rice and salt, stir to combine.  Cook on low heat, covered, until rice is tender for about 25 minutes.  When rice is tender add the rest of the ingredients, stir to combine.  Cook for about 20 minutes, uncovered stirring occasionally, until most of the liquid is absorbed.  You can serve this warm or chilled.

Tips:

1) You can use long grain white rice instead of brown rice.

2) If you don’t have raisins you could add any dried fruit that your family enjoys.

Little Snackers Thoughts:

“At first I said “RICE PUDDING” and made a funny face but then when I tasted it, it was so yummy!”

About snacktasticbecker

I am a big believer in it real foods, not overly processed boxed foods. When I go grocery shopping for my family I purchase mostly organic foods and local foods. All of the recipes I post will be made using organic foods (when possible). Making sure my family is making conscious food choice and educating my daughter on where our food comes are my number one priorities.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

