Jam Filled Scones


 

 

 

 

Ingredients:

2 1/4 cups of Flour ( I used white whole wheat)

2 tablespoons of Sugar ( I used evaporated cane sugar)

1 tablespoon of Baking Powder

1 teaspoon of Salt

1/2 cup of Butter (I used Earth Balance Spread)

1 cup of Milk

1/2 cup of Jam (pick your families favorite)

2 tablespoons of Milk

Directions:

-Preheat oven at 400 degrees, place oven rack in the center of the oven.

-In a mixing bowl sift together the flour, baking soda, salt and sugar.

-Add butter the dry ingredients using a pastry cutter, two knives or your hands.

-Add 1 cup of milk, mixing until all dry ingredients are incorporated, do not over mix.

-Divide dough in half.  Place on a floured surface and roll out each 1/2 of dough into two individual 8 inch disks that are about 1/2 inch thick.  Try to roll them out so they look similar in shape and size.

-Place jam on top of one of the disks, making sure to keep the jam about 1 inch away from the edge of the dough.

-Place the other disk of dough onto of the jam covered dough.  Press around the edge to seal the two disks together.

-Use a pizza cutter or knife to slice the dough into 6-8 triangles.  Separate the triangles and press around the edges of each triangle to seal (or you will end up with a jam covered baking sheet).

-Place triangle about 2 inches apart on a baking sheet that has been lined with parchment paper.

-Brush the tops of each triangle with milk and sprinkle on a little sugar.

-Bake for about 20 minutes or until the tops begin to brown.

Tips:

1) I used only whole wheat flour which made the dough a little hard to roll out.  Next time I will use 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 unbleached white flour.

2) When you are purchasing jam make sure you read the ingredients label.  You will be amazed at how many companies use high fructose corn syrup in their products.

3) Sealing the edges is an important step or all your jam will end up on the baking sheet.

Little Snackers Thoughts:

“I thought it was super great! My favorite thing was the whole thing. It was snacktistic!”

About snacktasticbecker

I am a big believer in it real foods, not overly processed boxed foods. When I go grocery shopping for my family I purchase mostly organic foods and local foods. All of the recipes I post will be made using organic foods (when possible). Making sure my family is making conscious food choice and educating my daughter on where our food comes are my number one priorities.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

